FASD Ongoing Training

Alcohol Use, Women’s Health and Pregnancy: Comprehensive Approaches to Preventing Problems Associated with Prenatal Alcohol Exposure

Type : Online
Language : English
Cost : Free
More Information: https://www.campusvirtualsp.org/en/courses/self-learning

The purpose of this self-learning course is to provide up-to-date training and information to health care providers to address alcohol use by women of reproductive age and pregnant women, by introducing strategies for health promotion, early detection and motivation for change in this specific population group.

The online course “Alcohol Use, Women’s Health and Pregnancy: Comprehensive Approaches to Preventing Problems Associated with Prenatal Alcohol Exposure”, is an initiative of the Pan American Health Organization. In 7 modules and final evaluation, this free self-learning tool primarily aims to capacitate health professionals in addressing issues related to alcohol use by women of reproductive age and pregnant women by touching on strategies for early detection, motivation for change and health promotion in this target group.

The theme areas covered in the course include:

  • Background on alcohol use and women’s health
  • Background on alcohol use and health of the pregnant woman
  • Implications of alcohol use in gestation for the fetus and child
  • Problems of alcohol as related to family relationships
  • Identification of alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Brief interventions and treatment
  • Implementation and health promotion

Caregiver Curriculum on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Type : Online
Language : English
Cost : Free
More Information: http://www.childwelfareinstitute.torontocas.ca/training

The purpose of this curriculum is to provide a venue for caregivers including foster parents, families, kinship care, youth and child care workers, child welfare services, and others trying to understand and cope with many of the life challenges faced by children with FASD. This training was developed by the Children’s Aid Society of Toronto in collaboration with the University of Calgary, University of Manitoba, Government of Alberta and funded by the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Please note, to access this online training, log in using the information below:

  • Username: guestfasd
  • Password: Hello1234*

SAFERA – Le syndrome d’alcoolisation foetale

Type : Training DVD
Language : French
Date: 2004
Cost : $65
More Information: http://safera.net/financement/index.php?article29/dvd-de-formation

This DVD explains everything that surrounds this major and costly public health problem, a source of ongoing hardship for sufferers and their families.

Foundations in FASD

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English and French
Cost: $25
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/foundations-in-fasd

This course provides a basic training program intended for everyone that will come into contact with individuals with FASD. This evidence-based course is both culturally sensitive and responsive to learners needs.

Topics in this course include:

  • An overview of FASD assessment and diagnosis in Canada
  • An introduction to FASD interventions and promising approaches
  • The effects of prenatal alcohol exposure on the fetus
  • The impact of alcohol on brain development
  • Issues related to stigma and FASD
  • Strategies for prevention and support
  • Barriers to prevention and support
  • The signs and symptoms of FASD across the lifespan

FASD for School Staff Level II: Practical Strategies for the School Environment

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English
Cost: $80
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-school-staff-level-ii

This course is an advanced training course intended for all educators working with students with FASD including all administrators, teachers, educational assistants, ECE’s, office admin, Board personnel and bus drivers. This Level 2 training course, building on the Level 1 Foundations in FASD course, provides the perspective of individuals who have FASD and their caregivers, is evidence-based and current, employs a culturally sensitive approach, and is presented in a way that is responsive to educators.

Topics in this course include:

  • A review of the key points of the Foundations Level I course
  • Characteristics of a FASD-Friendly school
  • Teaching strategies for students with FASD
  • The importance of educator/caregiver collaboration
  • Instructional, environmental, and assessment strategies in the classroom
  • Transitions facing students with FASD

FASD for Judicial and Legal Professionals Level II

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English
Cost: $80
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-judicial-professionals-level-ii

This course is an advanced training course for professionals in the Justice systems. This Level 2 training course builds on the Level 1 Foundations in FASD course and presents evidence-based and practice-informed information that can be easily and effectively integrated into your practice and approach to working with individuals with FASD.

The course is designed to provide learners with a better understanding of how FASD impacts a person’s involvement with the justice system, challenge some of the common assumptions about FASD and justice-involvement, and provide helpful strategies and suggestions for working with justice-involved individuals with FASD. There will also be interactive case examples to help reinforce the course content.

FASD for Solicitor General Professionals Level II

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English
Cost: $80
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-solicitor-general-professionals-level-ii

This course is an advanced training course for professionals in the Solicitor General systems. This Level 2 training course builds on the Level 1 Foundations in FASD course and presents evidence-based and practice-informed information that can be easily and effectively integrated into your practice and approach to working with individuals with FASD.

The course is designed to provide learners with a better understanding of how FASD impacts a person’s involvement with the justice system, challenge some of the common assumptions about FASD and justice-involvement, and provide helpful strategies and suggestions for working with justice-involved individuals with FASD. There will also be interactive case examples to help reinforce the course content.

The Prevention Conversation: An online curriculum

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English
Cost: $125
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/prevention-conversation

This course is an online training program for front-line health and social services professionals to provide them with the knowledge, skills, and confidence to engage their clients/patients in a supportive and non-judgmental conversation about alcohol use during pregnancy, its lasting effects on the developing child, and resources and supports available to women of childbearing age.

This course discusses FASD prevention by providing information about the risks of alcohol use during pregnancy as well as considerations to support women in a way that promotes healthy relationships with professionals and promotes safety and health in all facets of their lives.

Towards Improved Practice: An online curriculum

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English and French
Cost: $62.50
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/towards-improved-practice

This course is a training program that provides front-line service providers in many fields including mental health, addictions, corrections, shelters, literacy and adult education programs, with knowledge and tools to identify and best support women who are at-risk for having a child with FASD or individuals at-risk for having FASD themselves. These settings provide ideal opportunities to implement brief, effective approaches to prevent FASD as well as to improve outcomes for those already affected by FASD. CanFASD experts have developed a training workshop for front-line workers to improve understanding of the implications of prenatal alcohol exposure and to how to implement screening and a referral pathway for diagnosis and/or interventions.

Content includes:

  • An in-depth review of FASD and the implications of prenatal alcohol exposure on individuals and their families
  • Approaches to FASD prevention
  • Methods of providing support to women who are pregnant or may become pregnant to remain abstinent from alcohol
  • Methods for identifying individuals who have or may have an FASD, referring them for diagnosis where possible, and providing appropriate interventions to meet their needs
  • Clinical vignettes designed to realistically portray the provider–client interactions that might take place when providing FASD prevention or interventions

Multidisciplinary Team Training for Diagnosis of FASD: An online curriculum

Type: Online self-directed learning course
Language: English and French
Date: 2019 edition
Cost: Individual $250 – Team $1,000
More Information: https://estore.canfasd.ca/multidisciplinary-team-training-for-diagnosis-of-fasd

This online FASD curriculum is developed to assist professionals in learning the processes, procedures, and in developing the skillset needed to be effective members of a multidisciplinary diagnostic team.

The curriculum is designed for clinical and allied health professionals who are either currently working in FASD clinics or for those who will soon become members of multidisciplinary diagnostic clinic in Canada.

The online course includes common concepts that apply to all disciplines comprising the diagnostic team and focusses on the core concepts that are required for professionals who are involved in making FASD diagnoses. The expectation is that the participants will have a working knowledge of the field, professional competency in their own area of specialty, and exposure to the relevant research literature.

This is not an introductory course on FASD.

This course is MOC-3 accredited and provides standardized training based on current evidence and the new Canadian guidelines. Diagnostic teams are encouraged to take this course together and there are places for discussion and deliberation among the team within the curriculum.

This course was co-developed with the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) and was planned to achieve scientific integrity, objectivity and balance. Remember to visit MAINPORT to record your learning and outcomes. You may claim a maximum of 12 hours (credits are automatically calculated).

8-Week Caregiver Program

Type: Caregiver program
Language: English
Date: Ongoing (8-week program)
Cost: Free
Location: Norwest Community Health Centre
More Information: http://www.norwestchc.org/

Maureen Parkes FASD Coordinator
(807) 626-8485 or mparkes@norwestchc.org

An 8-week program providing information on supporting individuals suspected of or having FASD. Open to parents and caregivers/ anyone caring for someone with FASD; people with FASD can attend on a case by case basis. Participation through video conference can be arranged.

Not for professionals. Contact Maureen Parkes at the Norwest Community Health Centre for more information about intensive trainings for professionals.

Northwestern Ontario FASD Diagnostic Clinic

Type: Online Learning Module
Language: English
Cost: Free
Location: Online
More Information: http://www.fireflynw.ca/child-development-services-northwestern-ontario-fasd-diagnostic-clinic

A short online module to explain the FASD Diagnostic Services available in Northwestern Ontario. Although some aspects are specific to Northwestern Ontario, there is also general information on diagnosis applicable to all geographic areas.

Formation TSAF continue

Alcohol Use, Women’s Health and Pregnancy: Comprehensive Approaches to Preventing Problems Associated with Prenatal Alcohol Exposure

Type : En ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : Gratuit
Lien : https://www.campusvirtualsp.org/en/courses/self-learning

Ce cours d’autoapprentissage a pour objectif de fournir aux prestataires de soins de santé une formation et des informations actualisées sur la consommation d’alcool par les femmes en âge de procréer et les femmes enceintes, en introduisant des stratégies pour la promotion de la santé, la détection précoce et la motivation pour changer ce groupe de population spécifique.

Le cours en ligne « Consommation d’alcool, santé des femmes et de la grossesse: Approches globales de la prévention des problèmes liés à l’exposition prénatale à l’alcool », est une initiative de l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé. En 7 modules et évaluation finale, cet outil d’autoapprentissage gratuit vise principalement à inciter les professionnels de la santé à traiter les problèmes liés à la consommation d’alcool par les femmes en âge de procréer et les femmes enceintes en abordant les stratégies de dépistage précoce, de motivation au changement et de promotion de la santé dans ce domaine. groupe ciblé. Les thèmes abordés dans le cours comprennent:

  • Contexte sur la consommation d’alcool et la santé des femmes
  • Contexte sur la consommation d’alcool et la santé de la femme enceinte
  • Conséquences de la consommation d’alcool pendant la gestation pour le fœtus et l’enfant
  • Problèmes d’alcool liés aux relations familiales
  • Identification de la consommation d’alcool pendant la grossesse
  • Interventions brèves et traitement
  • Mise en oeuvre et promotion de la santé

Caregiver Curriculum on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Type : En ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : Gratuit
Lien : http://www.childwelfareinstitute.torontocas.ca/training

Ce programme vise à fournir des renseignements aux aidants naturels, notamment les parents d’accueil, les familles, les assistants familiaux, les travailleurs de la jeunesse, les services de protection de l’enfance et autres personnes tentant de comprendre et de faire face aux nombreux défis de la vie auxquels sont confrontés les enfants atteints de TSAF. Cette formation a été développée par la Société d’aide à l’enfance de Toronto en collaboration avec l’Université de Calgary, l’Université du Manitoba et le gouvernement de l’Alberta et financée par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Pour accéder à cette formation en ligne, connectez-vous à l’aide des informations ci-dessous :

  • Nom d’utilisateur : guestfasd
  • Mot de passe : Hello1234*

SAFERA – Le syndrome d’alcoolisation foetale

Type : DVD de formation
Langue : Français
Date: 2004
Coût : 65$
Lien : http://safera.net/financement/index.php?article29/dvd-de-formation

Ce DVD explique tout ce qui entoure ce problème majeur et coûteux de santé publique, une source de difficultés permanentes pour les personnes atteintes et leur famille.

Foundations in FASD

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais et français
Coût : 25$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/foundations-in-fasd

Ce cours offre une formation de base destiné à tous ceux qui entrent en contact avec des personnes atteintes du TSAF. Ce cours fondé sur des données probantes est à la fois adapté à la culture et aux besoins des personnes apprenantes.

Les sujets de ce cours comprennent:

  • un aperçu de l’évaluation et du diagnostic du TSAF au Canada
  • une introduction aux interventions sur le TSAF et aux approches prometteuses
  • les effets de l’exposition prénatale à l’alcool sur le fœtus
  • l’impact de l’alcool sur le développement du cerveau
  • questions liées à la stigmatisation et au TSAF
  • stratégies de prévention et de soutien
  • obstacles à la prévention et au soutien
  • les signes et symptômes du TSAF au cours de la vie

FASD for School Staff Level II: Practical Strategies for the School Environment

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : 80$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-school-staff-level-ii

Ce cours est un cours de formation avancée destiné à tous les éducateurs travaillant avec des étudiants atteints du TSAF, y compris tous les administrateurs, enseignants, assistants pédagogiques, ECE, administrateur de bureau, personnel du conseil et chauffeurs d’autobus. Ce cours de formation de niveau 2, qui s’appuie sur le cours de niveau 1 Foundations in FASD, offre le point de vue des personnes atteintes du TSAF et de leurs soignants, est fondé sur des données probantes et actuel, utilise une approche culturellement sensible et est présenté d’une manière adaptée aux éducateurs.

Les sujets de ce cours comprennent :

  • Un examen des points clés du cours de niveau 1 Foundations in FASD
  • Caractéristiques d’une école amenagée au TSAF
  • Stratégies d’enseignement pour les élèves atteints du TSAF
  • L’importance de la collaboration éducateur / soignant
  • Stratégies pédagogiques, environnementales et d’évaluation en classe
  • Transitions auxquelles sont confrontés les élèves atteints du TSAF

FASD for Judicial and Legal Professionals Level II

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : 80$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-judicial-professionals-level-ii

Ce cours est un cours de formation avancée pour les professionnels des systèmes de justice. Ce cours de formation de niveau 2 s’appuie sur le cours de niveau 1 Foundations in FASD et présente des renseignements fondés sur des données probantes et fondés sur la pratique qui peuvent être facilement et efficacement intégrés dans votre pratique et votre approche de travail avec des personnes atteintes du TSAF.

Le cours est conçu pour fournir aux apprenants une meilleure compréhension de la façon dont le TSAFF influe sur l’implication d’une personne dans le système de justice, remettre en question certaines des idées reçues courantes sur le TSAF et les implications avec la justice, et fournir des stratégies et des suggestions utiles pour travailler avec des personnes atteintes du TSAF et impliquées avec la justice. Il y aura également des exemples de cas interactifs pour aider à renforcer le contenu du cours.

FASD for Solicitor General Professionals Level II

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : 80$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/fasd-for-solicitor-general-professionals-level-ii

Ce cours est un cours de formation avancée pour les professionnels des systèmes du Solliciteur général. Ce cours de formation de niveau 2 s’appuie sur le cours de niveau 1 Foundations in FASD et présente des renseignements fondés sur des données probantes et fondés sur la pratique qui peuvent être facilement et efficacement intégrés dans votre pratique et votre approche de travail avec des personnes atteintes du TSAF.

Le cours est conçu pour fournir aux apprenants une meilleure compréhension de la façon dont le TSAFF influe sur l’implication d’une personne dans le système de justice, remettre en question certaines des idées reçues courantes sur le TSAF et les implications avec la justice, et fournir des stratégies et des suggestions utiles pour travailler avec des personnes atteintes du TSAF et impliquées avec la justice. Il y aura également des exemples de cas interactifs pour aider à renforcer le contenu du cours.

The Prevention Conversation: An online curriculum

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais
Coût : 125$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/prevention-conversation

Ce cours est un programme de formation en ligne destiné aux professionnels de la santé et des services sociaux de première ligne afin de leur fournir les connaissances, les compétences et la confiance nécessaires pour engager leurs clientes / patientes dans une conversation de soutien et sans jugement sur la consommation d’alcool pendant la grossesse, ses effets durables sur le développement de l’enfant, et les ressources et soutiens disponibles pour les femmes en âge de procréer.

Ce cours traite de la prévention du TSAF en fournissant des informations sur les risques de consommation d’alcool pendant la grossesse ainsi que des considérations pour soutenir les femmes de manière à promouvoir des relations saines avec les professionnels et à promouvoir la sécurité et la santé dans toutes les facettes de leur vie.

Towards Improved Practice: An online curriculum

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais et français
Coût : 62.50$
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/towards-improved-practice

Ce cours est un programme de formation qui fournit aux fournisseurs de services de première ligne dans de nombreux domaines, y compris la santé mentale, la toxicomanie, les services correctionnels, les refuges, les programmes d’alphabétisation et d’éducation des adultes, des connaissances et des outils pour identifier et soutenir au mieux les femmes qui sont à risque d’avoir un enfant atteint du TSAF ou des personnes à risque de souffrir du TSAF elles-mêmes. Ces paramètres offrent des occasions idéales de mettre en œuvre des approches brèves et efficaces pour prévenir le TSAF ainsi que pour améliorer les résultats pour les personnes déjà touchées par le TSAF. Les experts de CanFASD ont développé un atelier de formation pour les travailleurs de première ligne afin d’améliorer la compréhension des implications de l’exposition prénatale à l’alcool et de la façon de mettre en œuvre le dépistage et une voie de référence pour le diagnostic et / ou les interventions.

Le contenu comprend :

  • Un examen approfondi du TSAF et des répercussions de l’exposition prénatale à l’alcool sur les personnes et leur famille
  • Approches de la prévention du TSAF
  • Méthodes de soutien aux femmes enceintes ou susceptibles de devenir enceintes pour ne pas consommer d’alcool
  • Méthodes d’identification des personnes atteintes ou susceptibles de souffrir du TSAF, de les orienter vers un diagnostic si possible et de fournir des interventions appropriées pour répondre à leurs besoins
  • Vignettes cliniques conçues pour représenter de façon réaliste les interactions fournisseur-client qui pourraient avoir lieu lors de la prévention ou des interventions contre le TSAF

Multidisciplinary Team Training for Diagnosis of FASD: An online curriculum

Type : Programme d’autoformation en ligne
Langue : Anglais et français
Coût :Individuel 250 $ – Équipe 1000 $
Date: Edition 2019
Lien : https://estore.canfasd.ca/multidisciplinary-team-training-for-diagnosis-of-fasd

Ce programme en ligne sur le TSAF est conçu pour aider les professionnels à apprendre les processus, les procédures et à développer les compétences nécessaires pour être des membres efficaces d’une équipe de diagnostic multidisciplinaire.

Le programme est conçu pour les professionnels de la santé cliniques et paramédicaux qui travaillent actuellement dans des cliniques sur le TSAF ou pour ceux qui deviendront bientôt membres d’une clinique de diagnostic multidisciplinaire au Canada.

Le cours en ligne comprend des concepts communs qui s’appliquent à toutes les disciplines composant l’équipe de diagnostic et se concentre sur les concepts de base qui sont requis pour les professionnels impliqués dans le diagnostic du TSAF. On s’attend à ce que les participants aient une connaissance pratique du domaine, des compétences professionnelles dans leur propre domaine de spécialité et une exposition à la documentation de recherche pertinente.

Ce n’est pas un cours d’introduction sur le TSAF.

Ce cours est accrédité MOC-3 et offre une formation standardisée basée sur les preuves actuelles et les nouvelles directives canadiennes. Les équipes de diagnostic sont encouragées à suivre ce cours ensemble et il existe des espaces de discussion et de délibération au sein de l’équipe dans le programme.

Ce cours a été élaboré conjointement avec la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC) et était prévu pour atteindre l’intégrité scientifique, l’objectivité et l’équilibre. N’oubliez pas de visiter MAINPORT pour enregistrer votre apprentissage et vos résultats. Vous pouvez réclamer un maximum de 12 heures (les crédits sont calculés automatiquement).

8-week Caregiver Program

Type: Programme pour les aidants naturels
Langue: Anglais
Date: Programme continu de huit semaines
Lieu: Centre de santé communautaire Norwest
Lien: http://www.norwestchc.org/
Maureen Parkes FASD Coordinator
(807) 626-8485 or mparkes@norwestchc.org

Ce programme de huit semaines fournit de l’information sur la façon de soutenir les personnes atteintes du TSAF ou soupçonnées de l’être.

Le programme est offert aux parents, aux aidants naturels et à tous les gens qui offrent un soutien à une personne atteinte du TSAF. La participation d’une personne atteinte du TSAF est évaluée au cas par cas. Il est également possible d’organiser une participation par vidéoconférence.

Ce programme ne s’adresse pas aux professionnels. Communiquez avec Maureen Parkes du Centre de santé communautaire Norwest pour en savoir plus sur les formations intensives réservées aux professionnels.

Northwestern Ontario FASD Diagnostic Clinic

Type: Apprentissage en ligne
Langue: Anglais
Coût: Gratuit
Lieu: En ligne
Lien: http://www.fireflynw.ca/child-development-services-northwestern-ontario-fasd-diagnostic-clinic

Un court module en ligne pour expliquer les services de diagnostic du TSAF disponibles dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. Bien que certains aspects soient spécifiques au Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario, il existe également des informations générales sur le diagnostic applicables à toutes les zones géographiques.