Your source of accurate, up-to-date FASD information for Ontario

FASD Information for Ontario!

Welcome to FASD Ontario, your source of accurate, up-to-date Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) information for Ontario. This website will help you find the closest available FASD services, learn about a variety of FASD topics, read the latest FASD related news and find FASD training. We hope you visit the site often.

 

Provincial FASD Family and Caregiver Support Group Project

The Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (MCCSS) remains very committed to improving outcomes for children, youth and families affected by Prenatal Exposure to Alcohol (PAE) and Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD). We are very pleased to share that the Provincial FASD Family and Caregiver Support Group Project will continue.

We have made some positive changes to the program to tailor our group work to COVID-19 and to make the funding process more streamlined. Please visit the FASD Family and Caregiver Support Group Project page for more information.

 

Information about FASD

FASD Resources

Learn about FASD topics such as general information, advocacy, school/education, transitioning to adulthood and personal stories from people with FASD.


FASD Support/Services

Find your nearest Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder services such as FASD support groups, FASD Workers, Indigenous-specific services, diagnostic services and FASD Action Networks. Support groups that have received subsidies are listed here.


Ask Questions

Events/Training

Find FASD training including live, in-person events, online webinars and recorded events.


FAQs about FASD

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) are common questions with answers. Here are some common questions about Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.


FASD Ontario listserv

Sign-up for our FASD Ontario listserv to network and receive updates.


News

Read about FASD news, research and upcoming events.


What is Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD)?

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) is a diagnostic term used to describe impacts on the brain and body of individuals prenatally exposed to alcohol. FASD is a lifelong disability. Individuals with FASD will experience some degree of challenges in their daily living, and need support with motor skills, physical health, learning, memory, attention, communication, emotional regulation, and social skills to reach their full potential. Each individual with FASD is unique and has areas of both strengths and challenges. Challenges can occur in the following areas of development:

  • Physical – birth defects and motor skills
  • Mental – cognitive, memory, decision making
  • Behavioural – angry outbursts, trouble getting along in the world
  • Learning – poor school performance, trouble with abstract thinking

Getting diagnosed early and having the right supports can improve outcomes. Find out more FASD information for Ontario

Search for general information.

You can help spread the word by promoting www.fasdON.ca using these illustrations on your website and social media. Web button. E-mail card.

You can access additional information through the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Ontario Network of Expertise (FASD ONE) website.

La source d’information fiable et à jour sur le TSAF pour l’Ontario

Informations TSAF pour l’Ontario

Bienvenue à TSAF Ontario, votre source d’information fiable et à jour sur le trouble du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF) pour l’Ontario. Sur ce site Web vous pourrez trouver les centres de services TSAF les plus proches, vous renseigner sur divers sujets relatifs au TSAF, lire les dernières nouvelles en lien avec le TSAF et trouver des programmes de formation sur le TSAF. Nous espérons que vos visites seront nombreuses.

 

Projet provincial de groupes de soutien aux familles et aidants naturels TSAF

Le Ministère des Services à l’enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires (MCCSS) demeure très déterminé à améliorer les résultats pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles touchés par l’exposition prénatale à l’alcool (EPA) et le trouble du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF). Nous sommes très heureux d’annoncer que ce projet provincial de groupes de soutien aux familles et aidants naturels TSAF se poursuivra.

Nous avons apporté quelques changements positifs au programme pour adapter notre travail de groupe à COVID-19 et pour rationaliser le processus de financement. Veuillez consulter la page consacrées aux groupes de soutien aux familles et aidants naturels TSAF pour plus d’informations.

(English) Information about FASD

Chercher des ressources

Renseignez-vous sur les sujets relatifs au TSAF : informations générales, revendications et défense des droits, école et scolarité, transition vers l’âge adulte et témoignages de gens qui vivent avec le TSAF.


Services/soutien TSAF

Trouvez vos centres de services TSAF les plus proches : groupes de soutien, travailleurs spécialisés en TSAF, services destinés aux Autochtones, services de diagnostic et réseaux d’action TSAF. La liste des groupes de soutien qui ont reçu une subvention est disponible ici.


Ask Questions

Événements/Formation

Trouvez des programmes de formation, y compris des webinaires et des activités en direct, en personne et enregistrées.


FAQ

La FAQ (Foire Aux Questions) regroupe des questions courantes et leurs réponses, ici au sujet du TSAF.


Liste de diffusion TSAF Ontario

Inscrivez-vous à la liste de diffusion FASD Ontario pour réseauter et recevoir des mises à jour.


Actualités

Soyez au fait des dernières nouvelles, recherches et événements en lien avec le TSAF.


Qu’est-ce que le trouble du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF) ?

Le trouble du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF) est un terme diagnostique utilisé pour décrire les effets sur le cerveau et le corps des personnes exposées à l’alcool avant la naissance. Le TSAF est une invalidité permanente. Les personnes atteintes de TSAF rencontreront un certain degré de difficulté dans leur vie quotidienne et auront besoin d’aide pour développer leurs capacités motrices, leur santé physique, leur apprentissage, leur mémoire, leur attention, leur communication, leur régulation émotionnelle et leurs aptitudes sociales. Chaque personne atteinte de TSAF est unique et présente des forces et des difficultés. Ces personnes peuvent avoir des problèmes dans les domaines de développement suivants :

  • Physique– malformation congénitale et problèmes de motricité
  • Mental– troubles cognitifs, de mémoire et difficulté à prendre des décisions
  • Comportemental– crises de colère, difficultés relationnelles
  • Apprentissage– résultats scolaires médiocres, difficulté avec les notions abstraites

Un diagnostic précoce et un soutien approprié peuvent améliorer leur situation.  Trouvez plus d’information sur le TSAF pour l’Ontario.

Parcourez l’information générale dans la section Informations sur le TSAF.

Vous pouvez faire la promotion du site Web www.tsafON.ca à travers vos réseaux et sites Web en utilisant ces illustrations téléchargeables. Bannière Web. Carte courriel.

Vous pouvez aussi accéder à des informations supplémentaires via le site Web du Réseau d’expertise de l’Ontario sur l’ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisme fœtal (FASD ONE).